Motorists, take note: Four important road closures

map-of-trv-bridge-construction26F565A8E5F8

It seems orange barrels are everywhere. To help you move around Fort Worth easier, here are four important road closures you should know about:

White Settlement Road closure

White Settlement Road will be closed on about Feb. 11 for construction of the new White Settlement Road bridge that will go over the Fort Worth & Western Railroad tracks. The road is expected to remain closed through early 2018.

White Settlement Road will be closed from the Fort Worth & Western Railroad tracks to Henderson Street. While the road is closed for through traffic, access to local businesses between University Drive and the railroad will continue to be maintained.

Key alternate routes for through traffic while White Settlement is closed will be Henderson Street and Seventh Street.

Northbound I-35W connector to westbound Spur 280

The northbound I-35W direct connector exit to Spur 280/Downtown will be closed for about a year.

The recommended detour from northbound I-35W is to exit at Pharr Street, turn left and enter the ramp to southbound I-35W, then take exit 52A to Spur 280/Downtown.

This work is part of the $1.4 billion North Tarrant Express 35W project, which includes a section that is ranked No. 8 on the state’s most congested roadway list along 6.5 miles of I-35W from north of I-30 to north of I-820, including the I-35W/I-820 interchange. The project includes the reconstruction of main lanes and the addition of TEXpress managed lanes and will be complete in 2018.

Southbound I-35W Meacham Boulevard off-ramp detour

Another aspect of North Tarrant Express construction involves a traffic shift on southbound I-35W near Meacham Boulevard lasting about two years.

Motorists traveling on westbound I 820 to southbound I-35W who intend to exit Meacham Boulevard will be detoured. Traffic will continue on I-820 past the I-35W/I-820 interchange and exit Mark IV Parkway. Once motorists merge right onto Mark IV Parkway, they will then take a left onto the eastbound I-820/southbound I-35W frontage road to Meacham Boulevard.

This detour only affects westbound I-820 traffic exiting Meacham Boulevard from I-35W. Northbound and southbound I-35W traffic and eastbound I-820 traffic will have access to Meacham Boulevard off-ramps.

Western Center Boulevard

Western Center Boulevard in far north Fort Worth has been reduced from six lanes to two lanes in each direction to make room for expanding the intersection. Dedicated left- and right-turn lanes have been removed.western center

Work on the east-west thoroughfare is expected to last eight months.

Allow extra time to reach your destination. Some workers at BNSF headquarters and other businesses say the reduced lanes on Western Center have added 30 minutes or more to their commute.

