Just count them cars: I-35W construction update

The northbound frontage road is starting to take place north of Meacham Boulevard.
The northbound frontage road is starting to take place north of Meacham Boulevard.

The I-35W improvement project, which spans 18 miles in Fort Worth and includes a section that is ranked No. 8 on the state’s most congested roadway list, has achieved several milestones in recent months:

  • The first major bridge demolition was completed at 28th Street.
  • The first beams have been placed on the northbound frontage road north of Meacham Boulevard.
  • The first traffic switch was accomplished on southbound I-35W south of I-820 at Meacham.

Upcoming and ongoing work include constructing the northbound frontage road north of Meacham Boulevard, utility work on 28th Street and Meacham Boulevard, and replacing Oncor transmission towers at Northside Drive/Yucca Drive in the Oakhurst neighborhood.

I-35W carries 141,000 vehicles daily near downtown Fort Worth and 145,000 north of I-820. About 11 percent of the vehicles are trucks.

